Dingle Peninsula

 
Some of Europe´s most scenic places are found along the `Wild Atlantic Way´ in Ireland and the Dingle Peninsula is just one of them. This time I only took light spin fishing gear and waders with me as it was not an exclusive fishing holiday. The two books about fishing on the Dingle Peninsula, which I bought personally from Bob Moss a few years ago, were of big help. The Doonshean estuary and the small beach at Trabeg were luckily in short driving distance from our cottage. One of the most important things when it comes to sea fishing is a tidechart. Many spots do only deliver during certain times of the tide and if you´re not careful you might get trapped in small bays on a spring tide. A tidal range of around 4.5m around full moon is quite impressive and especially if all water goes through a narrow bottleneck like the channel at Doonshean. I did at least a few things right and ended up with almost a dozen sea bass, mullet and a couple of seatrout. Besides this I hooked up with coalfish, mackerel and whiting. A few fish were taken to the dinner table.

I meanwhile regret that I did not take my fly rod with me. The Anascaul river had plenty of water and both seatrout and salmon had probably climbed up to lough Anascaul.

 

  sea bass

  mullet

 

   our local beach at sunset
  
  Dingle - even in late September a busy place
 
  a bar of silver
 
 sandeel - the bass like them
 
 Leo - a regular visitor to our cottage
 
 a must in Anascaul - the pub of the Antarctic explorer Tom Crean
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0